My Take: Same sex marriage and how Christianity comes into play.

Homosexual-symbol-360x253

(I wasn’t going to make this post because I didn’t want to offend or belittle anyone’s beliefs.  I have came to conclusion that my beliefs, feelings and opinions are a part of me and I am proud to be me.  I am a caring person and I respect other peoples beliefs as I would want mine treated the same way.  I’m not saying anything is right or wrong, I am just sharing my views and opinions.  Recent discussion in my hometown has led me to share my opinions.)

When I was younger I was grown up to believe in God fully and went to church with my mother.  I also realized that a lot of the people sitting all around me in the church pews were not good people.  These people weren’t bad people for the fact that they were Christians.  They were bad people simply because they did things that were wrong.

I would hear the ladies behind me snickering and making fun of others attending church.  “Can you believe he came to church looking like that?”  “I heard that she did ___ and ____.”  “I can’t believe that she lets her daughter listen to that music! What a horrible parent.”  “Sadie’s daughter is turning out to be a freak.”  All of these statements and questions are judgmental.  I couldn’t believe some of the things I would hear sitting in that church pew on Sunday.  Who knew that the offering plate passed around was being filled with money only to be used in the wrong ways?  I was taught to respect others and not throw judgement at them.  I was taught that Christians were kind and loving people.  As you can assume what I was taught was very wrong.

You could say that I had a bad church experience. Although you may not want to believe it, there are the same kind of people sitting in your church potentially right beside you.  I have only met a few Christian’s that I believe to be as true to Christianity as they can be.  There are others who try to mold religion and the Bible to fit their lives.  They clip and pick at what they should believe in and follow and also what they shouldn’t.  I’m not saying that one is going to go 100% without sin because we know that is not true.  It’s about being the best you can be and fully giving yourself to God.

I’m no Christian but I do believe in God.  I don’t follow all the rules and I don’t go to church.  What I do is try to be my best.  I try to be a good, loving and caring person.  I treat others how I would like to be treated.  In my beliefs you turn the other way in life when you don’t like something.  If someone is offering you dinner and you don’t like the peas on the plate, what do you do?  Do you make a debate about how it’s wrong to even put peas on the plate? Do you just simply ignore the peas and move on?

My answer to that question would be the obvious to ignore the peas and move on.  I wouldn’t yell and cause debate with someone who likes peas.  That means absolutely nothing to me.  You may think that comparing something as same sex marriage to something as simple as peas is not the same.  If you truly think about it.. it is.

I understand that some Christians believe that they need to spread the word of God.  I believe that if you are going to do so you should spread the word in a way that isn’t so judgmental.  Regardless of what you may think, your lashes of hate and hurtful words could change how someone feels.  It’s not going to be the change you’re hoping for.  They won’t become Christian.  They aren’t going to believe that how they feel, something they have no control over, is wrong.  What you will do is make them feel little and hurt.

As Christians you’re supposed to love and accept everyone.  The Bible says, John 2:9 “Whoever says he is in the light and hates his brother is still in darkness.”  Matthew 5:21-26 “You have heard that it was said to those of old, ‘You shall not murder; and whoever murders will be liable to judgment.’ But I say to you that everyone who is angry with his brother will be liable to judgment; whoever insults his brother will be liable to the council; and whoever says, ‘You fool!’ will be liable to the hell of fire.”

It is never, under any circumstances, okay to judge another human being.  You should never throw hate on someone.  You should never say that something is right or wrong.  I say this because what is right and wrong to you may not be right or wrong to another because it is all simply a belief.  You believe it to be wrong.  That is okay because we are allowed to believe what we please.

You may say that my way of believing is messed up because of who I was around growing up.  When I was younger I realized that my cousin Crystal was different.  Did this bother me?  It didn’t bother me at all.  To me and in my heart she was and still is my cousin Crystal.  She dressed different than the rest of us girls and looked different too.  That was okay because we are all different.  We all dress different and we all look different.  She wore clothes that would be considered boy clothes.  This didn’t effect me at all.  I wore what I wanted and so did she.  Later in life I learned that she liked females instead of males.  I can gladly say that this made me think no more or no less of her.  I love her the same as I did and will always love her the same.

A lot of people would say that it’s wrong or sick.  They would say that they are an abomination to God.  I also know that my cousin Crystal is one of the kindest people you could ever meet.  I have never heard her throw judgement on others and would do anything for anyone.  My grandma Milda was a Christian and accepted her the same as she did each of us because how others feel are none of our business.  My question here is.. Who will God be judging more?  The person who is throwing stones and hateful manners toward someone.  Who is judgmental and belittles someone just because of their feelings and beliefs? or The person who is kind hearted with a heart full of love?  The one who does not throw judgement and does not have an ounce of hate in their heart?

I am not trying to turn anyone away from being Christians just as much as I would never try to turn anyone away from their beliefs.  My issue is that people need to just love and accept one another. If you are a Christian and that’s what makes you happy then so be it.  As long as you are trying to be the best Christian you can be.  If you don’t like someone or something that someone does you do not have to speak of it.  Fighting against how someone feels isn’t going to change anything.  It’s just going to make you look like you’re a judgmental hypocrite.

In my home state of WV they voted to not fight against same sex marriage.  Some of the comments went a little bit like this..
“The world is coming to an end.”  “All we can do is pray that they don’t allow it because if they do the world will be in pain.”  “Those ignorant people.  God will send you all to hell.”  “You are nasty and an abomination.  God will punish you and you will go to hell! Sick”  All of these comments are very hurtful and judgmental.  As Christians I believe that you should love and accept one another.  If you think what they’re doing is something that you don’t like then simply leave that to God.  They say only God can judge others so leave it be.

I believe in happiness.  We are only living for ourselves.  If something makes you happy then do what you will.  I love that people can express themselves even when it is deemed wrong from so many people.  We all just have to be ourselves and focus on the real issues with the world.  Choosing how another person can or cannot feel is wrong and that’s a fact.  We feel how we feel.  That is how we are made and who we are.  We have to be proud of who we are and stand up for our beliefs.  Standing up for our beliefs does not mean to criticize others.  I saw to move on and enjoy your life and being you.  If two people want to be married then that is their choice.

My last concern is that it is okay to be married to someone that you are related to but not someone of the same sex.  I feel that there are some messed up priorities in the world.  That’s why it is up to us as human beings to make the world a better place.  A loving and caring environment for all people no matter how they feel or what they believe.

Leave a Reply

