Happy birthday, Mamaw.

I want to take today to celebrate my mamaw Milda’s 83rd birthday. She was the best grandma I could ever ask for. We painted our nails, watched wheel of fortune, soap operas and wheel of fortune. When she felt asleep in her chair I may have sneaked to change the channel.

Christmas was always fun. She had two trees and although she would get me a ton of gifts, my name would be spelled a different way on each package. I’m not sure if she ever knew how to spell my name but I enjoyed seeing how she would spell it. I felt cool to have a million different names in her house.

Every morning you would wake up to breakfast on the table. There was no hassle to get up. You could get up and eat when you pleased. I would wake up extra early from the smell of her cooking. She would make everyone eat. You weren’t going to skip breakfast at all. In front of you sat bowls of gravy, fried potatoes, eggs, bacon, sausage and a big pan of biscuits. A real country breakfast.

When I was younger my grandma fell ill. Her kidneys weren’t functioning properly so I moved in with her when I was 7. I spent a lot of time there before that so it was really no change. I was happy to live there. Her house was big and there were plenty of things to do.

When I was younger, my cousins and I would spend the day climbing the hill where her cellar was. We made paths on each side to climb on top. Although we were young I don’t think anyone ever feared that we would fall off. My mom would yell, “Felicia get down from there! You’ll get dirty.” Only to hear my mamaw tell her that it was alright and to let me have fun.

In the Easter time we would hide plastic eggs all over her yard. I always wanted to find the lucky egg and she would sometimes help me cheat. Of course at the end of the day there was a big dinner waiting for us.

There are so many memories that I hope I never forget. From making dough balls and flinging them to stick on the porch ceiling to climbing up hills and sliding down with dirt on our behinds. I can truly say I’ve never had such a great time in my life.

In 2007, when I was 14 and she had received 8+ years of kidney dialysis, she passed away at a Hospice House. I’ll never forget seeing her there unable to communicate with me. I wanted more than anything for her to come home and be with me but that would have been selfish of me. I’m glad that she could rest peacefully until she passed. I love her dearly and wish I could give her once last hug.

In 2012 a tornado hit my area (which is a very rare occurrence. If they do they are F0-F1) This tornado happened to be an F3. It tore through my small town and destroyed my grandmas house completely. What little I had left of my grandma was gone. If she had been here she wouldn’t have made it under the rubble. Thankfully I wasn’t injured at my own home next door.

I hope that someone else gets to experience the lovely times a grandmothers house brings. Once your family members are gone you are going to wish you had great memories to hold onto and I’m thankful that I do.

I love my mamaw very much and miss her dearly. I’m thankful to have had her in my life as well as my grandpa who died when I was very young from lung cancer. They were both wonderful people.

Below I have shared some pictures of my loving grandparents.

Milda’s 75th Birthday Party.
June 22, 2006.

20140622-163236-59556743.jpg

All of her children at her birthday party. June 22, 2006.

20140622-163323-59603452.jpg

L-R
Me, My mother, Jonathan (cousin), and mamaw. Approx. 2004

20140622-163406-59646244.jpg

Milda & Edgar, My grandparents.

20140622-163514-59714136.jpg

She always felt asleep in her recliner and received a new one at her birthday party.

20140622-163612-59772040.jpg

Leave a Reply

