6 Things I’d Tell My Future Daughter

As a woman I sit and think about having children in the future. I often worry about how things will be for them because society isn’t looking the greatest these days. I would want her to succeed with a free spirit.

1: I would want her to know that not everyone will like her. I often feel that we grow up thinking that if were good hearted, caring people everyone will like us and treat us with respect. While we could only hope that this is true it isn’t. You just have to determine who is worth having as a part of your life and who isn’t. You’ll go through many friendships and relationships to find the right people. Don’t let others opinions determine your self worth.

2: While the term “Beauty is only skin deep” is true, it is also wrong. A beautiful appearance doesn’t make someone a good person. It doesn’t make them any more or less than who they truly are. It is wrong in ways because beauty is more than skin deep. You don’t have to wear makeup, dress in the fanciest of clothes and make sure you fit the persona of the world. You can be you and still be beautiful. You can be different and still be beautiful.

3: When choosing a path in life choose the one that will truly make you happy. Whether it be with career or other big decision making you have to make sure you’re happy. If everyone thinks you should go to college and become a doctor but you really want to go to cosmetology school then that’s what you need to do. It doesn’t matter what makes the most money or makes you look most successful. If you choose what others want you won’t be successful even if you did become what they wanted because you wouldn’t be happy with life.

4: Always treat others with respect even your enemies. I’ve grown up believing that I had to treat others how they treated me but I don’t believe that’s how it should be. By all means do stand up for yourself. Don’t let others knock you down face to face. If you’re in a situation that is carried on by drama just let it be. You’ll waste so much time on that situation when in the end it won’t matter. It doesn’t matter what others think of you. Be proud of who you are.

5: Never be afraid to be yourself. Don’t have a fake personality. If you spend your time pretending to be someone you’re not by the time you realize it’s not the life you want you will burn all of those bridges and have to start fresh. It’s better to be who you are. If others don’t accept who you are their friendships or relationships wouldn’t carry on for long.

6: Heartbreak happens. It’s okay to have your heart broken. As much as it hurts it has to happen. While you won’t understand why at the time, in the future you will realize that things happen for a reason and it will lead you where you need to be.

Those are 6 of the things I would tell my future daughter. Learning from mistakes is a good way to build who you are and learn right from wrong but I would want my daughter to know these things. I would want her to know that if one of these problems were to arise I would understand her and she would know that I gave her life knowledge. I want to teach my future children, daughter or son, that everything isn’t how it seems in life. Just go with the flow and be happy being you.

Leave a Reply

