Colin: The boy with a world class mom.

This mother did everything in her power to make sure her special little boy had a wonderful birthday.

20140513-051626.jpg

Colin is a very special young man. He has a disability that affects his social skills somewhat like Aspergers and Autism. He faces problems in school due to acting out and the other kids don’t like him, his mother explained.

Jennifer, Colin’s mother, asked him about a birthday party and his reply was heart breaking. He told his mother that there was no point in having a birthday party because he didn’t have any friends.

Jennifer said in an interview that Colin sat alone in the office at lunch because the kids refused to let him eat lunch with them. She said he didn’t want to make someone unhappy with his presence.

Jennifer decided she would create a Facebook page in honor of her sons upcoming birthday. She thought that maybe others would send encouraging words and it would help lift Colin’s spirits.

This is the original quote from Colin’s page:

“I am Colin’s mom, I created this page for my amazing, wonderful, challenging son who is about to turn 11 on March 9th. Because of Colin’s disabilities, social skills are not easy for him, and he often acts out in school, and the other kids don’t like him. So when I asked him if he wanted a party for his birthday, he said there wasn’t a point because he has no friends. He eats lunch alone in the office everyday because no one will let him sit with them, and rather than force someone to be unhappy with his presence, he sits alone in the office. So I thought, if I could create a page where people could send him positive thoughts and encouraging words, that would be better than any birthday party. Please join me in making my very original son feel special on his day.”

And she did just that receiving 2.1 million likes on Colin’s Facebook page.

A comment on his original post really hit home for me and I had to share.

Tracy Borden Whitaker writes:

Letter to Colin from my friend, Donnie (who shares my Facebook page with me)

“Hi Colin,

My name is Donnie and I am so glad your Mother told me about your birthday. When I was born with cerebral palsy the doctors told my mother I would never be able to do anything. They said my life would be bad and they told her to give me away and put me in a place with other people like me… people no one wanted. That made her really mad because she loved me so much. Now, I can’t tell you what she told those doctors because it wasn’t nice but she kept me and took me home.

I was different than the other kids at school. My legs don’t work so I’ve always been in a wheelchair and could not run or play games with them. I was lonely a lot at school and at home. My mother was a great mother to me like just like yours is. She loved me so much and I loved her too, but I wanted to be with kids my own age and have fun with them and they didn’t want me around. They didn’t understand why I was different and didn’t seem to like me. Teachers did not think I could learn so they didn’t give me a chance to learn but guess what, Colin? I learned anyway, and discovered I was able to do a whole lot more than those dumb doctors ever thought I could.

If you are feeling the same way, please try not to because I’m all grown up now and things are so much different and better. I love my life! I have my own apartment and I ride in my awesome, super cool wheelchair all over town. It goes fast! I go wherever I want all by myself and have a great time with lots of friends who love me. They come to see me and I go visit them too. We watch movies, laugh and eat lots of pizza and ice cream. And guess what else, Colin? I learned something else no one thought I could learn. I learned God only picks the most special people like you and me to be different… because he knows we have the best brains and brave hearts to handle it. I also learned that growing up is not easy either, but the older I get the happier I feel and I’m having a great time! You can too, Colin. You can do it, man. So don’t worry about the mean people. They don’t know how fun it can be to be like us. We don’t think about what we cannot do. We think about all the things we CAN do, and we can do a LOT of really fun, important stuff!

Happy Birthday, Colin! I wish you many more great birthdays to come and I hope they get happier for you every year just like mine did. I have a good feeling about you, Colin. Your best times are still ahead of you and you will have a beautiful, happy life… just like me. Happy Birthday again from your new friend in Kansas. Have a great day!

Your friend,
Donnie.”

With a picture of Donnie attached below.

The reason this hit home for me is because I, too, have cerebral palsy. Luckily mine isn’t as severe as Donnie’s and my heart goes out to him.

We need to take a look around us and see all the acts of kindness instead of the negative. Sometimes just showing someone how important they are can turn them completely around.

Colin’s mother is a very wonderful person for doing all that she did for her son. Not only did Colin gain a ton of friends he also got to attend the Today’s Show which offered a bunch of surprises as well.

If you’d like that watch that video you can click the link below.

http://www.today.com/video/today/54212295

I wish Colin and his family all the happiness in the world. I hope he continues to gain friends throughout life and doesn’t let other ruin his happiness.

You can send Colin fan mail at:
PO Box 756 Richland, MI 49083-0756

Or visit his Facebook page at:
http://www.facebook.com/coliniseleven

Leave a Reply

